genevieveandoliver

Chronicles a family's adventures in rehabing and restoring old furniture and vintage finds for their new home following a move to the South.

VINTAGE DRESSER FACE LIFT AND OUR ONE YEAR ANNIVERSARY December 30, 2011

Before learning about chalk paint, I would sand a piece down to bare wood, using an electric sander and some  serious elbow grease.   Although I like this kind of physical work it is quite time-consuming.  This was one of my first pieces which I originally sanded and painted with a can of Valspar white latex paint.  I then waxed it with a clear wax to give it a little luster.    Both of  my boys actually kicked in and helped me with the painting.  Better to keep them busy… I ‘ve had Mr. L knock over an entire can of green paint, on the driveway!!  Still makes me cringe!

I apologize in advance for the lack of a before picture and the quality of the photo.  This old girl was actually given to me by one of Miss I’s friend’s parents (free!!!).  I thought it would look nice in my sun-room. and it did.  But Miss I liked it too and felt it might  

look better in her bedroom.  (She knows how to work it!)  I replaced the original hard ware.  It’s hard to see but that’s an antique mirror I scored for $7.  It’s also painted.

Exactly one year ago today, our family and I were still living in a cramped hotel room.  Yes, the four kids, my husband and I, our two pups and a guinea pig were all living in cramped quarters for over a month while we waited for our, unexpectedly  and extremely delayed closing.  After much uncertainty (and stress) we finally closed and moved in on New Year’s Eve Day.  We were relieved and sooooo thankful!  The kids and I searched through boxes to find the necessary culinary tools to cook our first home-made meal in months… steaks, king crab legs and string beans.  They swore it was the best meal I’ve ever prepared them!  I think they were just desperate for  home cooking!!!  Anyway, we plan on celebrating with a similar menu served in the dining room to make it a little special.

My kids have had to make an enormous adjustment over the past year.  New home, schools, friends are the obvious changes they’ve had to adjust to.  It’s been a bumpy road and some are still happier than others.  Never-the-less, they’ve done well and I’m proud of each one of them for handling all the changes and hanging in there even at the most difficult times.  I’m hoping that when they’re grown they can look at the experience as a positive one… even if they wont admit it to their father and I.

Praying the New Year brings many blessings including health, happiness and excitement to our home and yours as well!

HAPPY  NEW YEAR!

Love,

The Staff at Genevieve and Oliver

 

Leave a Reply

