genevieveandoliver

Chronicles a family's adventures in rehabing and restoring old furniture and vintage finds for their new home following a move to the South.

MY VERY FIRST BLOG AND MY FIRST TABLE December 29, 2011

PUB TABLE FIND

One year ago my husband,  4 kids (2 girls/2 boys)  and I moved to a new house in a southern state.  The house was considerably larger and required more furniture than I had to fill it.  I had promised my daughter that I’d paint an old bed that we already owned,  for her to use in her bedroom.  I wanted to try my hand at painting a few other projects before putting a brush to her bed.  I’d never done this before and was a little nervous to start the project.  Plus Miss C is a picky one and I knew she wouldn’t use the bed if it didn’t turn out as well as I made it sound to her!  I found this table at  “the Goodwill” store for $52.  That price fell within my budget!   The table is also solid wood so I couldn’t pass it up.  This is what she looked like before paint.

And here she  is after.  I sanded the top down to the bare wood and stained it Dark Walnut.  The base is painted with Annie Sloan’s Old White Chalk Paint.

Here’s the completed pub table sitting on our back porch, along with two stools I bought on Craiglist and painted yellow.   Now, it’s a great spot to sit and have  a cup of coffee or a cold drink, outside.

This was the spark that began my interest in painting and rehabing furniture.  I’ll share other projects I’ve completed (including Miss C’s bed)  and my finds that are sitting in our garage, waiting for some TLC,  in future posts.

Thanks for reading.

Genevieve and Oliver

 

One Response to “MY VERY FIRST BLOG AND MY FIRST TABLE”

  1. Teresa Says:

    I love your table!! Great find. And I really like how you paired it up with those yellow chairs! Thanks for sharing!


Leave a Reply

